Author Topic: USLC motor shop and my story.  (Read 24802 times)

Offline IraceLegends77

USLC motor shop and my story.
« on: February 05, 2014, 10:55:17 am »
So let me tell you a little story about what happened to me and the engine shop.

First a little about me . I have been racing legends for about 10 years maybe more. I have been to 4 dirt nationals and 2 winter nationals. I race on a very modest budget (mostly used stuff) but love this sport and  love this series.

A friend and I decided to take a trip down to Concord NC to get are motors resealed and doing so we took a couple other guys from our area motors also. In all we had 6 motors. We made an appointment and showed up that morning. After we unloaded all the motors they took one that had a head bolt striped and one of the other guys that we had brought down and put them on the table. They started tearing the heads off both motors and inspecting. We knew they would pull the one motor apart but was surprised to see them do it to the other one. After we left we ran around the area for a couple of days we went back late on Friday to pick up the motors. Once we got there we were told by Brian that there was a problem with a couple of the motors. One was mine and the other was the guy that came down with me. Mine was about 30 old race motor that I had bought from a USLC dealer USED. It had served me well but was not a power house by any means. Brian told me and showed me that it had slotted cam gears in it....ILLEGAL. They also told me that the head had been decked to much and the head was also ILLEGAL. They also told me that the motor had been bored .009 over but it had stock pistons. They showed me this by using a feeler gauge and sticking down the piston hole and beside the piston. Now I'm not a engine guy but I'm not stupid either.

The results.

Slotted gear cams: They were replaced with non slotted gears. Easy fix.

Head decked to much: extra base gasket installed (Supposedly).