Author Topic: Engine cooling ductwork  (Read 15027 times)

Offline Legends16

Engine cooling ductwork
« on: March 28, 2013, 12:15:17 pm »
Hey guys,

Im still pretty new to these cars.  When I bought my car used It had the typical ductwork from the front bumper with the tube going twards the engine. On my car the tube was tyraped to the left front shock tower and stopped. My car didnt have the ductwork that connects to the engine from the tube, or this part bellow:

http://store.uslegendcars.com/site/product.cfm?id=204DBAAA-B0D0-791A-65C56028D19DB12F&dept_id=4CC0408A-B0D0-791A-65AEA69C4BF104C4

A stupid question, everyone runs one for these right? No reason not too?

Thanks,

Eric

knoxracing

Re: Engine cooling ductwork
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2013, 01:15:05 pm »
Throw it in the trash or hang it on the wall.  I am not a fan of ducting air to the tin box,  keep everything open and you will be fine. You may choose to run a fan set up on top of the engine or  on the oil cooler. We do not run fans on the top of the motor, it is a nice set-up though. We have always ran fans on the oil cooler, but with the new Fluidynes cooler package available we are even illiminating those too.

Offline legends13

• Northeast Legends
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2013, 01:42:23 pm »
I would agree with Dennis. Fans are good. The ducting is not worth using. it does little to cool the engine. The best bet is the new Fluidyne setup with dual coolers. one is for the main oil, and the other for the top end oil. if you use twitter, I posted a pic of the setup to my twitter account yesterday @bsalatino

Brad Salatino
Northeast Legends - Authorized USLC Dealer

Offline justfreaky

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2013, 09:16:54 pm »
Eric,

Dennis and Brad mention a whole lot about the oil cooler and very little about your question concerning the ducts and hose.
Do a quick search on cooling and you will see a few different ways that others have been doing it.