Author Topic: painting  (Read 9873 times)

Offline faster12

painting
« on: April 08, 2012, 10:55:19 pm »
hey guys Im new to legends car racings coming from a dirt car background. Im planning on taking my car and getting it wrapped here in the next few weeks but I want to paint my fenders. I was wondering what yall use as far as paint? I thought about just spray painting them but I doubt that will give me the glossy red finish Im shooting for. so i figured id just ask what the pros do lol

Offline VMS Motorsports

• Global Moderator
    • VMSmotorsports.com
Re: painting
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2012, 10:59:53 pm »
It all depends on what you are trying to achieve.
I assume since you are wrapping it, that you will want the fenders to look as good as the wrap, so you should get them professionally painted.
Personally, I do my own paint work, but my cars aren't show cars, and by the second night of dirt racing, they are chipped to hell anyway.
I use  tractor paint in a cheap HVLP gun in my garage. Like I said, it ain't pretty, but looks good on the track and from the stands.
If you're running asphalt, you should  have less damage on a weekly basis
JIM BUCHER
VMS Motorsports
Worldwide Legends Parts Supplier
(262)255-7100
http://www.vmsmotorsports.com/

Offline IraceLegends77

« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2012, 09:19:41 am »
leave them white so when you have to replace them (and you will) it will match.     ;D
Scott Wilkerson #77   Vision Graphix Racing

Offline Briz81

« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2012, 02:34:21 pm »
Since I have access to a Auto Body Shop, I used automotive paint, and it really shined nice. However, depending on budget etc..., it may not be practical. As for spray paint, in my experiance the glossier you go, the worse it will look. For whatever reason the glossy spray paint never seems to sit right and tends to magnify all the flaws. However, if you were going for a flat or semigloss look, spray paint would work just fine.

Offline faster12