Author Topic: Seating Woes!  (Read 11267 times)

Offline Briz81

Seating Woes!
« on: March 27, 2012, 04:21:38 pm »
Sooo... awhile back I got a custom made full containment seat from a company I will leave nameless. When I purchased the seat I had them do the measurements and specified my height 6’ 0” and weight 205 and explained it would be for a legend car. Being a noob, I was not aware to ask about seat layback or mounting assuming they knew better than I. Well I received the seat and found that it was a 20 degree layback and way too cramped for my feet, my knees hit the wheel, and my left arm banged right against the edge of the rib protection (which was too tight to move further in).

From my reading here and talking to others it seems a 10 degree layback would have been the better choice. However, I gave them the benefit of the doubt and drove several hours back there to have them offer suggestions. They said smaller wheel (fine with that), cut some of the brake pedal down and move it back (was not fine with) and then I would need to change the steering column and extend the steering shaft, do all new mounts for the seat, belts and have to cut into the head restraint of the containment seat as it hit the roll bar and caused a even bigger gap to the fire wall. 

After spending over a grand on the seat, I was not keen on dumping another several hundred bucks in fabrication work on a seat I was not crazy about or unsure it would still be comfortable.

So my questions are, do you think a ten degree was the better option for someone my size, would those mods mentioned make a 20 degree seat more comfortable, is having your bicep hit the rib protection part of the seat normal, and am I out of line asking to get a refund as it is not what I expected.

Sorry for the novel, but I really wanted to hear from those with more experience with these cars.

Offline JGRacing

Re: Seating Woes!
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2012, 05:01:10 pm »