Author Topic: Spooling a gear?  (Read 9220 times)

Offline Racinjj

• Steenbergen Motorsports
Spooling a gear?
« on: December 12, 2008, 12:23:20 pm »
Has anyone spooled a rearend gear?  Just wondering whats all involved.

www.JeffSteenbergen.com

Racecar spelled backwards is racecar. Racecar upside down is expensive.

Offline VMS Motorsports

• Global Moderator
    • VMSmotorsports.com
Re: Spooling a gear?
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2008, 01:56:39 pm »
Just weld it Jeff, from what I've heard, the spools are not the most durable, but I have no experience with that, mine are all welded
JIM BUCHER
VMS Motorsports
Worldwide Legends Parts Supplier
(262)255-7100
http://www.vmsmotorsports.com/

Offline Racinjj

« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2008, 02:02:26 pm »
Yeah I saw that in some of the posts I was looking at.  I have a spooled 3.73 that I used last year at all of the tracks but I was looking at some different gear combos.  I have about 5 sets of gears that are welded right now and will probably just use those and not worry about the spool.  I cant imagine that their is a significant difference between the spool and the welded gears since the spool weight has to be 25lbs.
www.JeffSteenbergen.com

Offline justfreaky

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2008, 02:03:58 pm »
This is what Randy had to say about spools in the welding rear end gears thread.

I weld all of my gears for personal use and those I sell with a MIG. I use an anti-splatter spray throughtout the interior of the housing to prevent slag from sticking to the gears or bearings. I weld the eight corners of the spider gears, along with the side gear that is exposed to the side of the carrier. Make sure that you attach your ground lead directly to the ring gear. If you attach it anywhere else, you are runing the circuit through the bearing(s) which will ruin them. You can by the anti-splatter spray at a welding shop; the can I have is made by Randor and is product #64000100.