Author Topic: Rim weights  (Read 12673 times)

Offline RickyBobby

• JM Motorsports
Rim weights
« on: February 11, 2008, 02:24:57 pm »
I see all the guys in the summer shoot out running the Bessett wheels and all the guys up here run the Chrome wheels.  In researching the Basset wheels are lighter but more expensive.  Is that the only difference?

FFmedic

Re: Rim weights
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2008, 03:40:12 pm »
I'm new at this, so I might be wrong, but my dealler here said that the valve stems are on the inside of them.

Offline IraceLegends77

« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2008, 03:56:55 pm »
Both of you are correct. I have found that Bassets are not that true but are a great wheel. A legends bumper will go right in a wheel and take the valve steem right off. YES, I learned this the hard way...............LOL................. ;D
Scott Wilkerson #77   Vision Graphix Racing

Offline MegaMang

• Fits me like a glove. A very snug glove!
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2008, 06:22:26 pm »
I'm kind of curious...  How often does that happen?  How did you fair on that one?

I'm likely to stick with the heavy chrome puppies for now, but I'd like to hear more.  Might change up for the following year.

Mike
If it isn't fun, why are you doing it?

Offline fastmantom

« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2008, 02:27:23 am »
I absolutely hate chrome rims on a racecar.  Usually they are a little bit heavier than their black counterparts (unless they are powdercoated).  The main thing I hate is the time it takes to make chrome rims look good.  When they are kept up real well it makes the car look real clean.  When they are not kept up too well, it makes the whole car look dirty, no matter how clean the car really is. 

Unfortunately our late model came with two brand new sets of chrome rims :(.
I don't know if I can make the car win, but I think I can make it run fast enough to where people think we're cheating.