Author Topic: New, and confused....  (Read 9723 times)

Offline Negulator

New, and confused....
« on: July 27, 2013, 11:11:18 pm »
I am new to this form of racing, and am really confused currently....I have read through all of these threads and I still don't understand?
My used 1250 (sealed) will not start!
My starter is spinning, and I can see the generator is spinning also when starter is winding over, however the motor is not turning over?
I have read throughout this site, that the starter chain is broken and the motor needs to be split to repair. I am trying to avoid as much as possible as you can understand.
Some things that are confusing me are:
A) Everything was working fine, and then suddenly (on raceday of course) the starter will not engage? If the starter chain broke (during practice), don't you think I would of heard something...don't you think I would hear something when I got the motor running (had to bump start the car, and ran my heat race then the Main feature)?
B) Heard/Read that perhaps the oil might be too think causing slippage? Would this make the car harder to shift also? If so what would everyone recommend running for oil?
C) The gear that I can see when the starter is removed does spin both directions, however only one direction causes the generator to spin?
D) Is there any test that I can preform to see what is happening prior to me sending the motor off
 to be repaired?

Any help would be appreciated!

Offline justfreaky

• Global Moderator
Re: New, and confused....
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2013, 01:37:07 am »
You are going to be very limited in what you will be able to open up and check on your sealed engine.
Good Luck,

Steve
Better to be hated for who you are, Than to be loved for who you are not.

Offline VMS Motorsports

• Global Moderator
    • VMSmotorsports.com
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2013, 08:17:19 am »
Did you spin the car when everything was working fine?
JIM BUCHER
VMS Motorsports
Worldwide Legends Parts Supplier
(262)255-7100