Author Topic: Blown engine  (Read 6070 times)

Offline Legends16

Blown engine
« on: May 17, 2012, 12:41:11 pm »
 :'(

Hello everyone. I am new to legend car racing and this forum. Ive been racing karts previously for 11 years and decided to make the jump to these cool machines. So I went out and purchased a used car, a 34 Ford sedan with a 1200 open motor.

The first practice day went alright. Twards the end of the day I had shifting issues. We found there was some issues with the linkage, a bent snapring and washer on the shaft entering the tranny. Fixed that and I was ready to run my first race on the 1.6 mile road course at New Hampshire Motor speedway last weekend.

I found that in the second practice of the event before the race the motor had charged its tone. This happened right after I hit the rev limiter on the front straightaway. It was louder and just sounded different. Ive got an oil pressure and oil temp gauge in the car. They acted up to. Both gauges would drop out completely and I also found that the neutral light also stoped working. Some of the wiring on this car is a little messy with connectors from the previous owner, I fully plan on cleaning this up. Anyway. We checked the header bolts and tightened them up almost a turn and figured this was the noise issue. I checked the oil level and all was fine. Started up the car and the gauges cam back and everything sounded ok.