Author Topic: Steering wheel distance  (Read 7387 times)

Offline Zero Hero

Steering wheel distance
« on: May 08, 2012, 09:28:54 pm »
Ok, I'm a newbie so this will be the first of many questions.

I have a 37 ford sedan with a 17" Butlerbuilt seat.  I am about 6'1" and about 220 lbs.  I fit comfortably snug in the seat, but the previous owner must have been much slimmer than me as the steering wheel is very close to the driver.  I understand the fatigue factor/more effort, exertion needed if I move the steering wheel farther away, but I'm confident that I can manage that for 30-50 laps. I also ASSUME that having it farther away would make the car feel slightly more "twitchy" as you will be holding the wheel farther out.

My fat belly is about 2 inches from rubbing the bottom of the steering wheel.  I know I cant move it to far forward as then my knees would get in the way, but I have several inches available to move it if thats what I decide.  My question is what are the pro's/con's of having someone fab me a shorter steering post/column setup.  My main concern is safety, in the event of a severe impact I fear hitting the steering wheel.  Or I fear some kind of failure with the sweet steering wheel diconnect mechanism and then I am completely stuck in the car because I can't squeeze past the steering wheel (i've practiced doing this....my kids thought it was hilarious).  So are my fears rationale or am I being overly cautious....I have never actually raced before. Anyone out there have experience with both setups?
Any and all advice is welcome

Offline justfreaky

• Global Moderator
Re: Steering wheel distance
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2012, 09:46:55 pm »
Dave posted this solution awhile back: