Author Topic: High oil temps  (Read 12695 times)

Offline faster12

High oil temps
« on: April 16, 2012, 01:20:46 am »
Hey guys once again I'm new to legends racing. Last weekend I noticed my cars temp got up over 300*  I started to pull in but was running way to good so i stayed out and Finnish the race. The car has 2 oil coolers in  front of the engine and an external oil filter but the thing that's throwing me off is on the top end where I've seen most oil coolers ran theres a plug in the passenger side of the head and the drivers side has a bolt in it and the hose from the oil cooler runs to ports in the valve cover. Has anyone heard of a set up like this?  The car has new plug and fresh oil  it did sit for I would say well over a year before I purchased it what could be causing my high temps? I will try to post some pics but I'm in twenty nine stumps for the next few weeks with the marine corps so I'm stuck using my iPhone  and I can't get pics to upload.

igotmylegend

Re: High oil temps
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2012, 07:44:38 am »
It sounds like someone plugged the top end off and then just dumped the oil back through the valve cover, I try not to give to much info on stuff as I'm I'am new to legend racing too. If that is the case you need to see why they did it that way.   

Offline VMS Motorsports

• Global Moderator
    • VMSmotorsports.com
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2012, 08:15:58 am »
Pictures would be great.
What are you using for oil?
JIM BUCHER
VMS Motorsports
Worldwide Legends Parts Supplier
(262)255-7100
http://www.vmsmotorsports.com/

Offline racerrad8

• Raduechel Performance Motorsports
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2012, 11:33:01 am »
The head is stock and has not been drilled for the head oiler. The return oil through the valve cover is not going to work very well, plus it is not legal.

You need to upgrade the cooling system to a better, legal system. There are many options on the market, so ask questions and pick the one that you feel is the best.