Author Topic: cross weight  (Read 15993 times)

Offline canadianwheels

cross weight
« on: November 07, 2007, 11:33:37 pm »
hi guys, im a newbie to this forum, and have found it an excellent source of information. my question is this, is there a crossweight % maximum, in the inex rule book there are left weight and front to back maximums but nothing is said about cross weight, thanks for any and all info guys.

EDavis

Re: cross weight
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2007, 06:59:06 am »
I dont believe there is a rule on it. But if you have too much cross you'll rely on the RF tire too much, where as too little relies too much on the LF. Cross is all about finding the happy medium that gets all 4 tires to do equal work and not working one tire more than another. Dont know if that helps or not.  ???

Offline RickyBobby

• JM Motorsports
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2007, 11:43:12 am »
Hey Canadian Wheels...where are you located?

Offline canadianwheels

« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2007, 06:19:12 pm »
in alberta canada

Offline justfreaky

• Global Moderator
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2007, 08:20:45 pm »
 "The basic idea of cross weight, is to get enough weight on the left rear tire to obtain proper traction coming off the corner. If the car is loose, add cross weight. If the car is pushing, reduce cross weight. More cross weight also tightens the car on entry into the corner.
 Another thing to consider is stagger. Tire stagger works closely with cross weight. As a general rule, the more cross weight a car has, the more stagger is needed. Adding stagger to the rear decreases cross weight."

To calculate cross weight:
   1. Weigh all four wheels ( be sure to weigh with driver in car, or similar weight)
   2. Add totals together to get Total Vehicle Weight
   3. Add left rear weight and right front weight to get Total Cross Weight
   4. Total Cross Weight divided by Total Vehicle Weight = Cross Weight Percentage