Author Topic: Mounting a seat in a bubble top coupe  (Read 18010 times)

Offline RickyBobby

• JM Motorsports
Mounting a seat in a bubble top coupe
« on: January 13, 2009, 04:56:08 pm »
I just got a bubble top 40's coupe.  Anyone with a 37 or 40 coupe I need your help.  The problem I have is mounting the seat.  I had a 20 degree and put it in and had no leg room.  I like leg room.  So I bought a 10 degree seat.  What happens now is the seat wants to come out the 2 bars behind my head.  Does anyone have pics or ideas?

Offline thunder938

Re: Mounting a seat in a bubble top coupe
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2009, 05:47:34 pm »
That is the problem with the round top coupes.., but they are light.  You have to be a smaller driver to fit in one. I am 6 3 @ about 250 with long legs, there is no way I can get in one, with or with the seat in the car.
Dave

Offline DanH

« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2009, 06:30:36 pm »
Yeah your going to struggle to do that I have a 10 degree in mine now but im not that tall of a person. What my dad has just done is nicked my seat out of my car which looks like this:

http://www.corbeau-seats.co.uk/sports_series.htm

He has modified the steering column so the wheel is higher and he is 5 11. This is with the seat bolted to the floor though.

Offline justfreaky

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2009, 11:46:38 pm »
RB,

Regardless of what some will tell you, I think there is less space in a coupe.

I bought the stock Legends seat... And will just have to see how it works out.
I'm 5'9" and  shy of 150#. So I'm not a very tall or large guy!

You may have to shorten the steering column, or position your seat, to get the right fit.
Sorry! Don't have any pics that would help you.

Steve
Better to be hated for who you are, Than to be loved for who you are not.

Offline MegaMang

• Fits me like a glove. A very snug glove!
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2009, 12:26:58 am »
150 lbs?  Heck, I have belly button lint heavier than that!