Author Topic: Bleeding Brakes  (Read 9698 times)

Offline JCarbaugh

Bleeding Brakes
« on: March 28, 2017, 10:21:31 am »
So I am new to Legends (and...brake bleeding) and was curious what the proper method of procedure was to properly bleed your brakes.  I have purchased a vacuum pump to properly allow me to perform the bleeding by myself, but am having difficulties. 

What I am doing now is the following:
Removing the lid from the reservoir
Hooking up the vacuum pump to brake bleeding (starting with LR)
Pumping until about 20 PSI
Cracking the bleeding valve

The contents coming out are 95% air/5% fluid.  I have tried increasing & decreasing the brake bias but am getting the same results.

Note: I practices last weekend and when braking, my pedal was go about 1-2 inches down and then become extremely stiff.  After trying to bleed them last night, the pedal is depressing all the way to the floor.  Another thing is before I started, I removed the brake housing (verbiage?) cover that goes between the wheel and cannot get it back on that wheel due to the brakes being energized.

Any thoughts? 

What am I doing wrong?

Offline justfreaky

• Global Moderator
Re: Bleeding Brakes
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2017, 03:25:23 am »
I was taught to start with the brake farthest away from the master cylinder (right rear). Have also heard people say the LR is the farthest away because of how it is plumbed.
Regardless... I have heard several people complain of issues trying to bleed the brakes. It takes some patience I guess.   

I am not clear on what you are calling a "brake housing", or why you would take it loose when bleeding the brakes.
Release the pressure by opening the bleeder.

Are these all new brake parts and/or master cylinder? Or have you drained the system completely?
Master cylinder needs to be bled first.

Could there be an issue with the push rod length between the pedal and the master cylinder?
Could there be a blockage in any of the lines?