Author Topic: Need some basic info.  (Read 11783 times)

Offline stevblev

Need some basic info.
« on: June 08, 2015, 12:27:13 am »
Hello all, my name is Steve and I am from Louisville, KY. I am 21 and I work as a machinist at a large job shop here in Louisville. We recently went to a rotating 3 day work week on night shift which gives me 6 days off every other week. So now I am on the hunt for a hobby of some sort that wont be too expensive, but will be fun, and I think Legends may be that hobby. I frequent the Sportsdrome in Clarksville, Indiana and have seen these cool little cars race many times before. But, I am almost clueless as to how these work and to what the expenses may be. I have seen used turn key cars for sale on Racing junk for 4500-10000. I know you have either a 1250 sealed (has to be rebuilt by 600), or 1200 open. And that is about it. We do some large engine work at work, but have the machines for smaller work if needed. I am very mechanically inclined and can make just about anything. How open is this series as far as doing your own work, fabrication, etc. What are the normal expenses for this sport? Are sponsorships out there? Do these cars have clutches? Are they safe? Are the engines relatively durable? Can you just hone and re-ring when they lose compression? What does a normal rebuild cost and what are the rebuild intervals?

Thanks for any info yall may have!

Offline justfreaky

• Global Moderator
Re: Need some basic info.
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2015, 12:35:46 am »
Hi Steve,

Welcome to the site! Lots of good people here on the site.
My best advice is to read through the old threads. Do a search of racing costs and buying a car. Lots of good info!

Steve
Better to be hated for who you are, Than to be loved for who you are not.

Offline Jason Treschl Racing

« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2015, 06:50:25 am »