Author Topic: driver comfort  (Read 18049 times)

Offline Legends16

driver comfort
« on: June 29, 2012, 11:13:57 pm »
Hey guys,

I'm a rookie to the legend car world. I'm having a blast racing my Ford Sedan at the NHMS road course and oval.

I'm 6ft 2in about 210 pounds. The car has a Kirkley seat with a 15 inch steering wheel. I want to say its got a 16 or 17 size seat. I am comfortable in the car except my left arm (underneith my left bicep) is hitting the side if the seat. Its hitting the part of the seat that wraps around my ribs. It enough to bruise my arm. I also don't have a whole lot of clearance between the door and my elbow either. The steering wheel shaft is as high as I can get it.

I've tried to bend the problem area of the seat but I don't think its enough. I've thought about moving the seat but I've only got about an inch before the right side of the seat gets into the driveshaft cover plate.

Is this a normal issue for us big guys? Anyone have an issue like this? Any suggestions on what to do?

Offline VMS Motorsports

• Global Moderator
    • VMSmotorsports.com
Re: driver comfort
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2012, 10:39:10 am »
I'm 6'1 and 245# and usually have bruises under both biceps after running on a rough track. If its confortable for you, stay with it. You may want to try shortening the steering shaft so that the wheel is further from your body if you are comfortable driving that way. That should bring your arms in closer to you, may help avoid hitting the seat
JIM BUCHER
VMS Motorsports
Worldwide Legends Parts Supplier
(262)255-7100
http://www.vmsmotorsports.com/

Offline TG01

« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2012, 12:33:14 pm »