Author Topic: Engines and rebuilds  (Read 8483 times)

Offline DPR

Engines and rebuilds
« on: July 26, 2011, 04:06:06 pm »
 I am new to Bandos and have found alot of great info on this site already.

My question is with these sealed motors how do you know if you just have a dud. I bought the car and had the engine redone at 600 in Nov last year. We run a 3/8th mile medium banked track and no matter what I do I can not gain speed in the car. I have played with the jets the valves the clutch and the vacum to the fuel pump and still am losing a second to the top cars. We actually roll into the corners and gain a little on the other cars but simply fall flat on corner exit and end of chute.

I have done the brake caliper and driver checks and neither is the issue. The brakes and bearings are rolling free and the driver is not lifting or riding the brake(installed a light just to be sure)

We have a gear rule so that is not the issue either.

Just getting very frustrated because I do not know if I am missing something or if  I am dealing with a motor that is just flat. I pulled a leak down check and compression check and called 600 and was told these #s were fine also.

Had decided to bite the bullet and buy a new engine but this week one of the other teams put in thier new motor and lost a second.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Offline justfreaky

• Global Moderator
Re: Engines and rebuilds
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2011, 06:19:48 am »
Do you run a restrictor plate?

Steve
Better to be hated for who you are, Than to be loved for who you are not.

Offline DPR

« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2011, 11:45:05 am »
Steve,

Yes we run the red restrictor plate. I have also made sure the order is corect regarding intake to resrictor to spacer to carb. I also checked to make sure that the spacer has been opened in the middle.