Author Topic: switching LR and RR shocks....  (Read 5561 times)

Offline slack11

switching LR and RR shocks....
« on: May 07, 2011, 07:46:21 am »
I am new to this, and have been given advice, but wanted to see what some of you thought.
  We are running a 3/8" paved mostly flat oval, and I'm decent on the bottom, but I want to be able to run a lane above that, the trick to this track and probably mostly all small ovals, if I can run the high side, it'll be a big plus as most "hug" the bottom.

If I move a half lane up I get loose in a hurry, I have a 200 in the RR and a 185 in the LR. , running about 51 % cross right now.  Friends of mine who are in the late model world have told me to switch the rear two shocks and give it a try, the 185 in the RR and 200 in the LR. 

Anyone try something like this?  What kinda results did you get?

Thanks,

Offline Legends57x

Re: switching LR and RR shocks....
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2011, 08:19:29 am »
I previously ran a super stock on a 1/4 mile asphalt track for three years prior to switching to legends and always ran the heavier spring on LR.  I am running a very similar spring package right now that you are right now and again have heavier spring on LR and am able to run high and low on most tracks.  Keep in mind that running the heavier spring on the RR does not allow the chassis to roll and apply weight as much to RR and thus less bite.  Remember to reset  your ride heights and rescale after switching your shocks.

Hope this helps! ;D
Mark Ritger
INEX Legends #1x

Offline thunder938

« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2011, 08:33:00 am »
All the shocks are valved the same..is one weeker than another..maybe.  I will tell you that when I ran the BFGS cross was set in the high 49s lower 50. Now with the Feds.. 51 cross is going to be WAY tight.  I dropped the cross a few points like 48 ish.  even with the cross lower the car will get tight with the Feds..
Dave

Offline justfreaky

• Global Moderator